New Grading System of SSC & HSSC

To ensure a smooth transition, the new grading system is implemented in phases – first phase starts from 2023 for grades 9 (SSC) and grades 11 (HSSC). To ensure that stakeholders understand the reporting of the results, absolute scores will also be reported along with grades and grade points.
Starting from 2023 academic year, the IBCC new grading policy will be implemented by all examination boards of Pakistan in three phases and will be fully adopted by the year 2025.
The new grading system has been introduced by the IBCC to minimize the culture of competition among students and to safeguard the students from psychological pressure of society to obtain maximum marks. It is a better reflection of the student achievement being a 10-point grading scheme.
The changes in new grading system are as below:
  • Shift from 7-point alphabetical grading (A-1, A, B, C, D, E, F) system to 10-points grading system e.g., A++. A+, A, B++, B+, B, C, D, E, U.
  • The passing marks will be 40% instead of 33%
  • Reporting only alphabetical grades and grade points: instead of reporting absolute scores and grades, only alphabetical grades represented with the Grade Points will be reported. The grade points will help to calculate Grade Point Average (GPA) and Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA).

Letter Grade

In Percentages


5.0 Scale (GPA)

A++ 95­% to  100% Exceptional 5.0
A+ 90% to 94% Outstanding 4.7
A 85% to 89% Excellent 4.3
B++ 80% to 84% Very Good 4.0
B+ 75% to 79% Good 3.7
B 70% to 74% Fairly Good 3.3
C 60% to 69% Above Average 3.0
D 50% to 59% Average 2.0
E 40% to 49% Below Average 1.0
U Less than 40% Unsatisfactory 0
IBCC Office Timing Monday-Friday: 08:30 AM To 04:30 PM
+ +